Distinguished Alumni & Friends

  • The Hurley Education Foundation wishes to annually recognize one or more distinguished alumni of the Hurley School system or another person that has made an outstanding contribution to education in the Hurley School District. The person may be a Hurley Alum, teacher or staff person. The award recipient may also be a citizen who has made an extraordinary contribution of any kind to education in the Hurley School District or has made that contribution in their own community. The award will be given annually to a recipient to be selected at the discretion of the Hurley Education Foundation. The Foundation shall consider the following factors in relation to each nominee and the award recipient shall be determined by the board of the Hurley Education Foundation:

    1. What has the nominee done to excel in his or her chosen occupation or profession?
    2. What has the nominee done to give back or to contribute to his or her community generally or to the Hurley School District specifically?
    3. What has the nominee done to make him or her stand out as a leader or an example to Hurley School District students?
    4. What valuable contributions has the nominee made in time, effort or other assistance to improve the quality of education in the Hurley School District?
    5. What sets this nominee apart from other award nominees?

    In applying the above general guidelines, the Hurley Education Foundation shall decide in any particular year whether one or more distinguished alums or friends shall be so honored.

    CLICK HERE for the HEF Alumni & Friends Recognition Award Nomination Form

    Prior Inductees

    2019: Mike Fauerbach, Maj. Gen. Rodney R. Hannula, Phyllis Schlecht, Edward "John" Wiita

    2018: Vern Downey, Dr. Joseph Lalich, Joseph H. Masterson, Sr., David Traczyk

    2017: Dr. John R. Haglund, William E. Kero, Wayne and Bridgette Nasi, Dr. Thomas Bruneau, Gilbert Endrizzi

    2016: Robert Alleva, Norma DeRubeis, Bob Pisani, Greg Pisani, Jerry Pisani, Lt. Col. David Rautio

    2015: Patricia Calvi Brahnstredt, Dr. James Lombardo, Dr. Robert Baima, Paul Zarzyski and Dr. David Rigoni

    2014: Dr. Robert DeZur, Ron Harma, Peter Korpi, Roger Myren

    2013: Larry Brunello, Robert Peltonen, Jean Ann Endrizzi, Donald Baldovin, Dr. John R. Sturgul

    2012: William Smith, Keith Livingston, Bill Komsi, Dan Ehnbom

    2011: Eric Newhouse, Louis "Cookie" Laguna, Angelo Luppino, Kenneth Genisot

    2010: Paul Pisani, John "Tony" Cattelino, Paul Sturgul, Edward Kinney

    2009: Jack & Joan Giovanoni, Richard Laihinen, James Mattei, Dorothy Walesewicz

    2008: Marial Bino, Warren Buccanero, Santino "Sye" Castagna, Larry Kirby, Arne Salli

    2007: Edward J. Gibbons Jr., Dr. John Pierpont, Paul Santini

    2006: Virgina Morzenti De Benedictis, Art Prosek

    2005: Robert J. Bruneau, Clyde Eilo, Sister Timothy Kirby, Donald Mrdjenovich, Rev. Jack Rainaldo, S.J.

    2004: Dr. Joseph Darin, Mary Kay Endrizzi, Dr. Carl Rainaldo

    2003: Joseph Sullivan

    2002: Carl Prosek

    2001: Roman "Muzzy" Conhartoski